Connect with us
[the_ad_placement id="manual-placement"]


Belhaven offers writer’s scholarship in honor of alumna



A private university in Mississippi is preparing to award a second scholarship to an incoming freshman who will major in creative writing.

The Angie Thomas Writers Scholarship will cover tuition, room and board at Belhaven University in Jackson, Mississippi.

The program might also provide smaller scholarships to other students.

Belhaven established the scholarship to honor Thomas, who earned her degree there in 2011. She wrote the bestselling novels “The Hate U Give” and “On the Come Up.”

“The Hate U Give” was developed into a major motion picture from Fox 2000, and starred Amandla Stenberg. Angie is also working as a producer on the film version of “On the Come Up.”

Her new novel, “Concrete Rose,” is being published this month.

To apply for the Angie Thomas Writers Scholarship, applicants must fill out the application for admission, declare Creative Writing as a major, and be admitted to Belhaven University. Applicants should also complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).

Complete Requirements for the Angie Thomas Writers Scholarship include the following:

  1. Twelve to 15 pages of your best creative writing. You may include the following genres in your application portfolio: poetry, fiction, scripts and creative nonfiction. All of your portfolio can be from one genre or a mix of genres.
  2. Write a two- to three-page essay answering this question: What are three things you would most like others to know about you and your community? Include examples that help the reader get to know you and your community.
  3. Include a cover letter with the following information: name, address, email address, telephone number, name of high school and how you heard about the Angie Thomas Writers Scholarship.

Scholarship applications are due March 15 and the winner will be selected April 15.

These submissions can be emailed to the Office of Admission at [email protected]

Copyright © 2022 Vicksburg Daily News.

Vicksburg Daily News