Connect with us
[the_ad_placement id="manual-placement"] [the_ad_placement id="obituaries"]


Collette Tops 29 Car Field of MMCS at JMS




rd position and have a great battle for the 2nd position with Biloxi, Ms driver Ronnie Roberts, while outside front row starter Jason Taylor opened up a 5 car length lead on the rest of the field. A lap 8 caution would tighten the field up and bring a new player into the fold, the #k1 of Meridian, Ms driver Randy King. With Taylor leading, Collette in 2nd and King using the high side, it was now a tight 3 car battle for the lead. With just 5 laps to go in the event Collette would get a great run off turn 2 and drive hard under Taylor into 3, clearing Taylor off turn 4 and setting sail for the last 4 laps to take the win over Taylor in 2nd and King in 3rd. Pole sitter Roberts would finish fourth and veteran modified driver Ben Stephens in his Lucas Oil sponsored machine rounded out the top 5. Modified heat race winners were Ronnie Roberts, Jason Taylor and Collette. Cars transferring from the B Main were Columbus, Ms driver Rodney Etheridge and Rusty Cooper from Saucier, Ms. Florida, Mississippi, Louisiana and Alabama were represented on Saturday night during Round 1 of the Mississippi Modified Challenge Series. “Mr. Smooth” Kevin Whittington took the feature event win in the Paul’s Body Shop/HP Graphics Super Streets. Whittington, driving his Ergon Inc/Mike’s Fiberglass/J. Michael Cox Chevy Monte Carlo started the feature event from the outside pole with Cliff Williams to his inside. Unfortunately, Williams night would come to an early end when his steering broke entering turn 1 on the very first lap. Whittington would go on to take a commanding win over Gerald Smith in 2nd and Jessie Beck in 3rd. Whittington was also the heat race winner. Jimmy Cliburn would steer his brand new Barry Wright to victory lane Saturday night in Extreme Wireless Super Late Model action. This was just the 3rd outing for Cliburn in his Cliburn Tank Lines/Cliburn Performance/Xtreme Graphics by J-Rod Ford Mustang. Cliburn would have to hold off a hard charging Daniel Moore for the win. Moore would actually pass Cliburn near the halfway point of the feature event, but Cliburn would use the high side of the track to regain the lead with just a handful of laps remaining. Star, Ms drivers George Paul and Henry Cooper would finish 3rd and 4th respectively with fast qualifier Brad Banes rounding out the top 5. Cliburn and Moore would take the heat race wins. Cliff  Williams would not let his hard luck in the Super Street feature race deter him as he wheeled his Ware Construction Trakstar to the win in the Crate Late Model division. Williams would hold off a strong charge from Purvis, Ms driver Michael Arnold in the #8 Stockstill Motorsports machine. Arnold would pressure Williams for several laps before making contact with a tractor tire in turn 3 to bring his night to an end. Williams would go on to take the win with Florence, Ms driver Doug Sanchagrin taking 2nd and youngster Jered Smith finishing 3rd. Williams would set fast time and take the heat race win. In probably one of the wildest races ever at Jackson Motor Speedway, Jennifer Cooper took the win in the Touch of Class Body Shop Pure Streets division. Cooper who had been running around the 5th place position for much of the feature would start to see things going her way when Caleb Langford had to leave the track with a flat tire and leaders Josh Banes and Devin Whatley’s beating and banging off each other finally came to a head with a major crash on the front straightaway causing both cars to be retired from the event. Cooper found herself as the “last woman standing” and would take the win. Langford and Skylor Slay would take the heat race wins. Jackson Motor Speedway will be back in action this Saturday night with the Extreme Wireless Super Late Models, Paul’s Body Shop/HP Graphics Super Streets, the Crate Late Models, the Marble Enterprises Open Wheel Modifieds and the Touch of Class Body Shop Pure Streets. The drivers meeting will be at 6:00pm with hot laps to follow. Racing will start no later than 7:00pm. Fans get to the track early and get your seat in the Long Electric Family Section or get you an ice cold Budweiser on the Reed Pierce Back Stretch Lounge. The owners and staff of Jackson Motor Speedway would like to thank all the sponsors that support the track. Please support each of our sponsors. Visit for more information.]]]]> ]]>

See a typo? Report it here.
Continue Reading