Connect with us
[the_ad_placement id="manual-placement"] [the_ad_placement id="obituaries"]


Flaggs appoints Youth Violence Prevention Committee



two vicksburg finest promoted
Photo from Mayor George Flaggs speaking at a VFD pinning ceremony. Photo by David Day

On Monday, Vicksburg Mayor George Flaggs, Jr. announced the establishment of the Youth Violence Prevention Committee and the appointment of its first members.

The Committee will be tasked with making recommendations on the safety and well-being of youth under the age of eighteen-years-old within the City of Vicksburg.

The Committee will create a comprehensive strategy to combat juvenile violence using a multi-prong approach of education, prevention, intervention, parental coaching, family counseling, and other relevant factors.

The Committee will also create a Youth Program comprised of juveniles recommended by the Warren County Youth Court and the Vicksburg Warren School District.

Mayor Flaggs states, “This is the first step in taking care of the future of Vicksburg. We intend to focus on the mental, psychological, and behavioral safety and well-being of the children in the City of Vicksburg. This Committee is dedicated to that common goal.”

In a press release on Monday, Flaggs announced ten members of the Committee:

  • Vicksburg Police Chief Penny Jones – Chairwoman
  • Felicia Kent, CHAMPIONS-COVID-19 Advancing Health Literacy Project
  • Anessia Martin, City of Vicksburg – Human Resources
  • Cedric Magee, Vicksburg Warren School District
  • Cindy McCarley, Good Shepherd of Vicksburg
  • Rachel hardy, Warren County Youth Court
  • Carla Sullivan-Sanders, Medgar & Angela Scott Community Life Center
  • Dexter Jones, Warren County
  • Joe Johnson, Central Mississippi Prevention Services
  • General Bryant, Travelers Rest Christian Academy

View the press release below:

See a typo? Report it here.