Connect with us
[the_ad_placement id="manual-placement"]


George Flaggs, Jr. to become Vicksburg’s first 3 term mayor since 1968



mayor flaggs
Mayor George Flaggs Jr. (photo courtesy City of Vicksburg)

Incumbent Mayor George Flaggs, Jr. has secured the Vicksburg Mayoral position for a third term, making him Vicksburg’s first three-term mayor since John Holland who served from 1957 – 1968.

John Holland was Vicksburg’s previous three-term mayor. (Photo by David Day)

Flaggs, Jr. secured 68% of the vote during Tuesday’s municipal elections against Troy Kimble, who obtained 26% of the vote and Daryl Hollingsworth, who obtained 7% of the vote.

Daryl Hollingsworth and Amber Morton arrive at City Hall to view the election results. (Photo by David Day)

The South Ward election results were too close to call. Vickie Bailey came out strong when the first precincts reported, but was quickly neck and neck with incumbent Alderman Alex Monsour. By the end of our coverage, Bailey stood at 47% of the vote with Monsour holding 53%.

206 absentee ballots remain which will determine the winner of the South Ward.

Michael Mayfield secured the North Ward during the primaries and did not need to run in the municipal race.

We will bring the update on the South Ward results as we receive them.


Copyright © 2022 Vicksburg Daily News.

Vicksburg Daily News