Connect with us
[the_ad_placement id="manual-placement"] [the_ad_placement id="obituaries"]


Hinds Community College honored Vicksburg scholarship recipients



From left, Christian Oakes, Mayor George Flaggs and Ali Cook

The Hinds Community College Foundation recognized 2019-2020 scholarship recipients, donors and honorees from Vicksburg at a reception on Oct. 29 in the Loviza Building on the Vicksburg-Warren Campus.   

Click on any image to enlarge it.

Kaileigh Trichell, left, of Vicksburg, received the William F. “Sonny” Bruce Memorial Scholarship. With her is Barbara Applebaum, also of Vicksburg.

Christian Oakes, left, and Ali Cook, both of Vicksburg, received the Warren County Scholarship. With them is Vicksburg Mayor George Flaggs.

Sean Daily, of Vicksburg, received the Waring Oil LLC Athletic Scholarship. With him are Lee Waring, center, and Pierson Waring, right, also of Vicksburg.

Anna Turner, of Vicksburg, received the Walter B. Hallberg Jr. Scholarship. With her was Walter Hallberg III, also of Vicksburg.  

Recipients of the Vicksburg Medical Auxiliary Scholarship honoring Philip B. Watson Jr. Front row: second-left, Ethan Decker, of Brandon, Taylor Bowman, of Madison, Kaitlyn Hamil, of Madison, and Beaty Hill, of Flowood. Back row, from left, Kyla Tyler, of Jackson, Madelyn Smith, of Brandon, Haley Frazier, of Florence, and Kyisha Mayfield, of Vicksburg. Mayfield also received the Vicksburg Medical Auxiliary Scholarship. With them are Dean of Nursing Priscilla Burks, front row left, and District Dean of Health Sciences Kathy Elliott, front row right.

Taylor Mardis, of Vicksburg, right, received the Shirley Ann Farish Nursing Scholarship. With her is Shirley Ann Farish, left, also of Vicksburg.

Tonya Anderson, of Vicksburg, center, received the Sandy Redditt Cain Memorial Scholarship. With her are Sharon Cummins, left, and Libby James, both of Vicksburg.

Haley Steed, front row, left, received the John & Mabel Loviza Family Scholarship, Wyatt Turner, back row, left, received the Myrtle Loviza and Kathleen Loviza Endowed Scholarship. Charles Bryant, back row, center, received the Joe Loviza Career-Technical Scholarship. All are of Vicksburg. With them are Glenda Loviza, front row, center, Myrtle Loviza, front row, left, and Joe Loviza, back row, right, all of Vicksburg.

Vantrel Reed, center, of Vicksburg, received the Fred & Margie Oakes Endowed Scholarship. With  him  are Donald and Bettye Oakes, also of Vicksburg.

Nicholas Blakely, center, of Brandon, who received the Euell & Etoile Liles Family Scholarship. With him are Dean Liles, left, of Plano, Texas, and Bryan Liles, right.

Ashlee Sowell, center, of Benton, received the Dean and Rebecca Liles Scholarship. With her are Dean Liles, of Plano, Texas, and Bryan Liles.

Evan Fedell, of Vicksburg, center, received the Chaney Family Endowed Scholarship. With him are Jim and Mark Chaney, also of Vicksburg.

Front row, from left, Brelynn Beck, Jamie Bridges, Philip Beck; back row, Steve Beck, Breydan Beck and Pamela Ashby Beck, all of Vicksburg

Annelise Ouellette, of Clinton, left, received the Bobbie B. Anderson Nursing Scholarship. With her is Bobbie B. Anderson, of Vicksburg.

The Hinds Community College Foundation awarded more than 600 scholarships in the 2019-2020 academic year. The deadline to apply for a scholarship for fall 2020, academic year 2020-2021, is Feb. 15, 2020. For more information, visit    

See a typo? Report it here.