Connect with us
[the_ad_placement id="manual-placement"] [the_ad_placement id="obituaries"]


LSU knocks off Clemson in National Championship



Joe Burrow (photo via Tiger Wire Facebook page)

LSU star quarterback Joe Burrow was a part of all six touchdowns scored by the Tigers to help them win 42-25 over Clemson last night as LSU took home the College Football Playoff National Championship.

Clemson scored the first points of the game as quarterback Trevor Lawrence scored on a 1-yard run. Lawrence had helped Clemson to a 29-game winning streak before losing to LSU yesterday.

A few minutes after Clemson scored, LSU answered back with a 52-yard touchdown pass from Burrow to Ja’Marr Chase to tie the score at 7-7. Chase ended the night with 221 receiving yards and nine catches.

Burrows would show his true athleticism in the second quarter where he scored three touchdowns,  two passing and one touchdown run. The two passing touchdowns went to Chase and Thaddeus Moss, while Clemson only scored one touchdown and a field goal in the second quarter. At halftime, LSU was ahead 28-17.

Moss went on to catch another touchdown pass from Burrow in the third quarter as Travis Etienne scored on a 4-yard run for Clemson.

Early in the fourth quarter, with 12:08 left in the game, Burrow threw his fifth touchdown of the night to Terrace Marshall Jr. for a 24-yard run. That touchdown was the final score of the night.

LSU ends its season with a 15-0 record and its first national championship since 2007.

See a typo? Report it here.