Connect with us
[the_ad_placement id="manual-placement"] [the_ad_placement id="obituaries"]


Nine local legends to be inducted into the VWSD Athletic Hall of Fame



Alonzo Stevens
Alonzo Stevens
Listen to this article

Nine local legends have been selected for induction into the Vicksburg-Warren School District Hall of Fame.

The inductees are Kelli Campbell, Joseph Johnson Sr., Michael Myers, Harold Pickett, Alisa Scott, Kristin Chapman, Roosevelt “Kip” Smith, Alonzo Stevens and Larry Warren.


Kelli Campbell:

Campbell attended Warren Central High School. There, she won two state titles in tennis. She was a three-year starter on the basketball team, a four-year starter in softball, and a two-year starter on the girls’ soccer team.

Joseph Johnson Sr:

Johnson was a track star and football player at Vicksburg High School. He was selected to the Mississippi High School All-Star Game and was recognized by the National High School Coaches Association on the Prep All-America Football Squad. Additionally, he made the All-Warren County Team, the All-Delta Zone Big 8 Team for the North Zone, and the All-Big 8 Team. He won the District in the shot put during his senior year. Notably, he started on both offense and defense at VHS and later played at Mississippi State University.

Michael Myers:

Myers was a defensive lineman at VHS and earned a spot on the 1994 All-State Team. He continued his athletic journey at Hinds CC, where he was recognized as a JUCO All-American. Later, he showcased his talent at the University of Alabama. His prowess caught the attention of the NFL, leading to his draft by the Dallas Cowboys in 1998. Myers spent a decade in the NFL, playing for teams such as the Cowboys, Cleveland Browns, Denver Broncos, and the Cincinnati Bengals.

Harold Pickett Sr:

Pickett excelled in both football and track during his time at Warren Central High School.

During his sophomore year in 1978, Pickett impressively secured 13 interceptions, earning a spot on the All-State Team. By the end of his high school tenure, he amassed a total of 25 interceptions. In track, he was a standout in the long jump and triple jump events. Pickett continued his athletic pursuits at Hinds CC, where he shone in the safety position.

Alisa Scott:

Scott lettered four years in basketball from 1980-1983 at WCHS. In 1983, she was honored as the Mississippi High School Player of the Year. Later, she contributed significantly to Ole Miss, leading them to four consecutive NCAA appearances and achieving a remarkable 102-22 record. In recognition of her achievements, Scott was inducted into the Ole Miss Sports Hall of Fame.

Kristin Chapman:

Chapman excelled in girl’s soccer at VHS during the 1990s, leading the Missy Gators to three state championships. With a staggering career total of 126 goals, she holds the record as Mississippi’s leading goal scorer. Chapman earned the titles of Gatorade Player of the Year in both 1998 and 1999 and was named Vicksburg High School’s Most Valuable Player for four consecutive seasons. Under her leadership, the Missy Gators clinched three state championships in 1996, 1998, and 1999 and narrowly missed out, finishing as runners-up in 1997.

Furthering her soccer career, Chapman initially played for the University of Florida and later transferred to Ole Miss. There, she served as team captain and was recognized on the All-SEC Team in 2000, 2001, and 2002. Post-graduation, Chapman took on the role of Head Coach for WC’s soccer team from 2003 to 2007.

Roosevelt “Kip” Smith:

Smith excelled in both track and football during his time at Vicksburg High School. As a key player on the offensive line, he was chosen to represent the North Squad on the Mississippi State All-Star Team in 1981. In recognition of his outstanding performance as a high school player in the Vicksburg and Warren County area, he was awarded the Billy Ray Memorial Award.

His prowess on the field led to a scholarship at the University of Southern Mississippi. Smith showcased his versatility by playing on both the offensive and defensive lines. In his junior year, his impressive record of 30 solo tackles and nine assists earned him a distinguished spot in the Eagle Club. Additionally, he was a proud member of the 1983 team that triumphed over the University of Alabama.

Larry Warner:
Warner was a formidable running back at WCHS, amassing a total of 2,929 yards and 27 touchdowns between 2003 and 2004. He played a pivotal role in leading the Vikings to a district championship in 2004 with an impressive 10-1 record. His stellar performance earned him a spot in the North/South All-Star Game, where he was subsequently named the MVP. In addition, he was part of the 4X100 state championship relay team.

Post high school, Warner continued his football journey at Mississippi Gulf Coast CC before moving on to the University of Southern Illinois. There, he became only the fourth player in the school’s history to rush for over 1,000 yards. Warner has since transitioned to coaching and currently serves as the running backs’ coach at Southern Illinois.

Alonzo Stevens:

Stevens graduated from Rosa A. Temple High, during which time the Buccaneers clinched three consecutive state championships. Remarkably, Stevens only experienced two losses during his high school football career. After high school, he shined at Alcorn State University and later played professionally for the Baltimore Colts.

In 1976, Stevens returned to Vicksburg and took on the role of an eighth-grade basketball coach, leading his team to a Little Six Championship with a stellar 17-1 record. Notably, one of his players was Michael Phelps, who later played in the NBA.

In 1978, Stevens stepped into the position of defensive coordinator for VHS, thanks to an appointment by Jim Sizemore. Over the years, he showcased his versatility by coaching soccer, basketball, and track, and later transitioned to coaching collegiate football at Alcorn State University.

By 2001, Stevens took the helm as the VHS Head Football Coach. In his inaugural year, he led the team to the third round of the playoffs. Stevens continued in this role until 2011.

During his tenure as head coach, he mentored several players who would later become professional athletes, including Michael Phelps, Sylvester Stamps, Malcolm Butler, Justin Henry, and Norman Price. Impressively, Stevens holds the distinction of being the only coach to have defeated Warren Central five times consecutively.

The Event

The Hall of Fame Athletic Banquet will be held on Oct. 12 at the City Auditorium at 6 p.m. Tickets can be purchased at the Vicksburg Warren School District’s Athletics Office for $25.00.


See a typo? Report it here.