Connect with us
[the_ad_placement id="manual-placement"] [the_ad_placement id="obituaries"]


Party Primary Election Day



elections vote
Listen to this article

Tuesday, April 6, is voting day for the party primaries where registered voters in Vicksburg will narrow down the field of municipal candidates and determine who will move forward to the general election in June or a runoff election on April 27, if necessary. To win the primary the candidate must win 50% of the vote +1 vote.

Three candidates are running for the Democratic nomination for Mayor. They are, alphabetically, Shawn Jackson, Troy Kimble and Willis Thompson.  Today’s winner will face incumbent Mayor George Flaggs Jr. and independent Daryl Hollingsworth in the general election.

Running for the South Ward Alderman seat are Thomas “TJ” Mayfield and Vickie Bailey.  The winner will go on to face incumbent Alex Monsour in June.

In the North Ward race, only two candidates qualified to run and both are Democrats so today’s vote will determine the North Ward Alderman.  Incumbent Michael Mayfield is being challenged by Alfred Webb.

All registered voters in the City of Vicksburg are able to vote in this primary election, regardless of party affiliation, and polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.  If you are unsure of where you vote for municipal elections or if you would like more information, call the City Clerk’s Office at 601-634-4553.

See a typo? Report it here.