Connect with us
[the_ad_placement id="manual-placement"] [the_ad_placement id="obituaries"]


Port Gibson Police and Claiborne County Sheriff join Southwest Mississippi CrimeStoppers



Chief Joseph Daughtry Sr., Sheriff Edward Goods, Chief Lemuel Rutledge, Chief Russell Dorsey, Sheriff Travis Patten, Chief Shawn McMiller, and Sheriff James Bailey Sr. (courtesy of Port Gibson Police Dept.)
Listen to this article

On Wednesday, the Port Gibson Police Department and Claiborne County Sheriff’s Office announced that they are now a participating agencies in Southwest Mississippi Regional CrimeStoppers.

Chief Russell Dorsey was joined by Claiborne County Sheriff Edward Goods, Adams County Sheriff Travis Patton, Jefferson County Sheriff James Bailey Sr. along with Natchez Police Chief Joseph Daughtry Sr. ,Woodville Police Chief Lemuel Rutledge and Fayette Police Chief Shawn McMiller in making the announcement.

“Crime does not respect city or county lines. This is one step in our commitment to work together to protect the citizens in these areas. We need the public to say something if they see something,” Chief Dorsey said Wednesday.

CrimeStoppers gives individuals the opportunity to do so and remain anonymous.  By calling 1-888-442-5001, callers are given an identification number. If an arrest is made based on their information, they will be directed to a bank outside of this area to receive their compensation.

Calls are directed to a call center in Texas which directs the information back to correct agency. The calls are scrambled to protect the caller’s identity. Persons can also use the P3 Tips app.

CrimeStoppers was formed in 1976 nationally and has been responsible for the successful apprehension of thousands of fugitives. The revamped Southwest group makes up one of 32 currently operating in the state of Mississippi.

See a typo? Report it here.
Continue Reading