Connect with us
[the_ad_placement id="manual-placement"] [the_ad_placement id="obituaries"]


Riverfront Park Committee to host community town hall



Golding park, riverfront park
Listen to this article

A public town hall will be hosted on Wednesday, Oct. 26th from 5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. at the Ardis T. Williams, Sr. Auditorium, 901 Monroe Street.

The Board of Mayor and Aldermen of the City of Vicksburg, Warren County Board of Supervisors and Riverfront Park Advisory Committee plan to hear public input on changing the location of the Riverfront Park, a Land and Water Conservation Fund (LWCF) Grant, to another location located at Oak Street and Lee Street and possible amenities for the park.

Comments letters may be submitted until Oct. 24, at 5 p.m. to:
Riverfront Park Committee
ATTN: City Clerk’s Office
P.O. Box 150
Vicksburg, Mississippi 39181

Following the meeting, an online survey will be available for the public to complete to further receive comments for the committee to review. The survey will close on Wednesday, Nov. 9.

The Riverfront Park Committee is comprised of 8 members appointed by the City of Vicksburg Board of Mayor and Aldermen and the Warren County Board of Supervisors. The committee is charged with collecting feedback from the community, looking at all options that we have in terms of assets as well as funding sources for those assets, as well as making a final recommendation on a conceptual plan for the Riverfront Park.

Committee members include co-chairs Linda Fondren and Fermika Smith, Elizabeth Nelson, Janice Flowers, Michael Mathews, Dorwin Shields, Mark Buys, and Laura Beth Strickland. City of Vicksburg Parks and Recreation Director Patrick Daughtry, Warren County Parks and Recreation Commission President Dr. Casey Fisher, and Austin Golding serve as ex officio members of the committee.

To send any direct inquiries, email

See a typo? Report it here.
Continue Reading