Connect with us
[the_ad_placement id="manual-placement"] [the_ad_placement id="obituaries"]


Roy Everett Ivey, 1945 – 2022



obituary memoriam 2022
Listen to this article

Roy Everett Ivey, 76, was the 8th born child of Willie Lee and Minnie Mae Ivey on Aug. 14, 1945. He spent his childhood in Claiborne County with his 9 siblings, W. L., Margaret, Tommy, Leon, Catherine, Linnie, Alice, Nina and Carl Lewis.

After marrying the love of his life, Linda Sue Campbell, they made their home in the Yokena community. He worked in a variety of fields and was known as a Jack of all trades. He worked as a farmer, ranch hand, welder at LeTourneau, construction at Bechtel and valve technician. In 1986 he began traveling across the U. S. working nuclear outages. He especially liked working at McGuire Nuclear Plant in North Carolina. Roy worked away from his family for over 26 years. He took great pride and will forever be cherished by his daughters, Angela, & Marsha, for being an excellent provider.

Later in life Roy was known as “Pop” to his grandchildren and great-grandchildren Kyle and Hunter Mattson and Samantha Tello, Cole and Audrey Mattson, Ivey Tello and Kaitlyn Bruce.

Roy was never a man to remain idle. He stayed busy after retirement by keeping a herd of goats and cows, carpentry and fishing.

He is survived by his daughters Angela Tello, and Marsha Ivey, brothers W.L. Ivey and Carl Ivey, sisters Nina Farrish, Linnie Dillard, Alice Cranfield and Catherine Twiner, grandchildren Kyle and Hunter Mattson and Samantha Tello, great-grandchildren Cole and Audrey Mattson, Ivey Tello and Kaitlyn Bruce.

The family would like to extend appreciation for the compassionate care Roy received in the past few months to Dr. David Headley and the staff of Claiborne County Hospital and Claiborne County Senior Care.

A funeral service will be held at noon on Wednesday, May 25 at Glenwood Funeral Home in Port Gibson, MS. Visitation will be from 11:00 a.m. until the hour of the service. Interment will follow in Wintergreen Cemetery.

Pallbearers will be Kyle Mattson, Hunter Mattson, Cooper Tomlinson, James Hicks, Bryan Lafollette and Tim Ivey.

See a typo? Report it here.
Continue Reading