Ten candidates have submitted paperwork so far to fill the position vacated by the death of Michael Mayfield.

Eligible citizens must submit to the city clerk, Debra Nickson, by Friday, April 19, 2024, at 5 p.m. The election will be held on May 9, 2024.

Those who have submitted paperwork but have not necessarily been approved to run for the position are:

Thomas J. Mayfield

Daryl Hollingsworth

Charles Selmon

Joseph Williams, Jr

Gregory Bingham

Kevin Winters

Bobbie Bingham Morrow

Jamma Williams

Michael Anthony Gates

Warren Jones

Candidates are encouraged to send their contact information to:


So we may schedule a video question-and-answer session between you and David Day on important issues facing Ward One and the City of Vicksburg.