Connect with us
[the_ad_placement id="manual-placement"] [the_ad_placement id="obituaries"]


Warren County among four Mississippi counties added to federal disaster proclamation for February storms



From the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency:

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved Issaquena, Sharkey, Warren, and Yazoo Counties for Public Assistance under Federal Disaster 4429, which is in response to the February 22-24 severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that impacted the state. Public Assistance is a supplemental cost reimbursement grant program that assists in the restoration of community infrastructure.

The addition of these counties brings the total number receiving federal assistance to 29. The others already included in this disaster are Alcorn, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Clay, Coahoma, Grenada, Humphreys, Itawamba, Lafayette, Lee, Leflore, Lowndes, Montgomery, Panola, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Quitman, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tishomingo, Union, Washington Webster and Yalobusha.

The Public Assistance categories are as follows:

  • Category A: Debris Removal.
  • Category B: Emergency Protective Measures.
  • Category C: Roads and Bridges.
  • Category D: Water Control Facilities.
  • Category E: Buildings and Equipment.
  • Category F: Utilities.
  • Category G: Parks, Recreational Facilities and Other Items.

The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) is still waiting for a response from FEMA regarding an Individual Assistance declaration for Humphreys, Issaquena, Sharkey, Warren and Yazoo counties. Individual Assistance provides financial help or direct services to individuals who have disaster-caused expenses that are not covered by insurance or other means.

For more information about recovery efforts, visit MEMA’s website at

See a typo? Report it here.