Connect with us
[the_ad_placement id="manual-placement"] [the_ad_placement id="obituaries"]

Hinds CC students receive honors

High-achieving Hinds Community College students were recently recognized at the Student Awards of Distinction ceremony.


All-MS Transfer Pathway Scholars who were recognized at Hinds Community College’s Student Awards of Distinction ceremony are, from left, Maddie Grace Walters of Pelahatchie, Astha Patel of Vicksburg, Douglas Norris Jr. of Brandon, Anthony Brandon Copeland of Richland and Karter Brie Buchanan of Brandon. Also recognized but not present were Taylor Davis of Brandon, Allison Labonte of Pearl, Shan Patel of Vicksburg, Ardarrius Stasher of Jackson, Tra’Shaylah Wilson of Lake and Taviyon Young of Madison.

Hinds 2

Award of Excellence students were recognized at Hinds Community College’s Student Awards of Distinction ceremony. These students hold a 3.5 grade point average or higher and have demonstrated outstanding scholarship, leadership and service while enrolled at Hinds. Each campus is represented. Students who were recognized include, front from left, Ambar Clarissa Martinez Jones of Brandon, Audrey Mae Jennings of Raymond, Brenna Edan Genthe of Clinton, Karson Neal Lowery of Terry, Ashlyn Grace Bailey of Terry, Hien Anh Van of Clinton and Teryn N. Winn of Jackson; middle row, Megan Tuyet Nhi Troung of Flowood, Hannah Skye Robinson of Brandon, Maddie Grace Walters of Pelahatchie, Astha Patel of Vicksburg, Maya Claree McFadden of Jackson, Emma Grace Harper of Brandon, Karter Brie Buchanan of Brandon and Courtney Alyssa Hanks of Brandon; back row, Anthony Brandon Copeland of Brandon, Jacob Tyler Houston of Bolton, Dallas Christian Crosby of Clinton, James Louis Honeycutt of Terry, Benjamin Davidson McBride of Jackson, Thomas Benton Townsend of Flowood, Gabriel Dante Williams of Jackson and Shayne Dalen Thompson of Vicksburg. Not pictured are Spencer Malcolm Carlisle of Hernando, Allison Pritchard Labonte of Pearl, Hayley Victoria Lambert of Puckett, Shan Samir Patel of Vicksburg, Suzette Castro Roman of Flowood, Karina Alexis Trejo of Clinton and Tra’Shaylah Markecciyah Wilson of Lake.


Each of the six Hinds Community College locations nominates an Award of Excellence designee for the SOAR Award. The Awards of Distinction application, scholarship essay and recommendations for this student nominee clearly demonstrate that this student soars toward excellence in all endeavors. Nursing Allied Health Center student Stella Boadum of Madison, pictured with Hinds President Dr. Stephen Vacik, was selected this year. Other nominees were Rankin Campus student Anthony Copeland of Richland, Raymond Campus student Gabriel Williams of Jackson, Utica Campus student Tra’Shaylah Wilson of Lake and Vicksburg-Warren Campus student Shayne Thompson of Vicksburg.

See a typo? Report it here.